Home News Events Comps Natters Contacts Feedback Gallery Links Join Us


Summer Gathering 2017

by Piers Hubbard

Summer Gathering Report
Penshurst Place 30th July

Our Summer Gathering at Penshurst this year was a select gathering with just 123 people attending what was a great venue. The rally field was located right opposite the main public car park and close to the visitor entrance and cafť. This meant that we had many non-MG people inspecting the cars, with some recounting their past MG experiences.
This year we had cars ranging across the MG spectrum, from a 1929 14/40 to a modern MG3, which took the Concours award. Separate parking areas were set out the day before for pre-1955 cars, post-1955 cars, MGFs and an area for the Zed Register.
The marquees were set up on a wet Saturday afternoon, with separate ones for Signing On, Regalia and the Bring & Buy stall, which despite being well publicised, didnít see much action.
The usual feeder run was organised by Angie Vickers and Diana Calvert and started from the popular Pheasant pub in Buckland, before an hourís scenic run to Penshurst.
We had also laid on a conducted tour of the house which was reported to be very interesting.
The usual Concours and Pride of Ownership competitions took place, with Michael Wacher taking the honours in the later with his TC.
We also ran a raffle, where lots of bottles of Champagne were up for grabs. Following this the results were announced, albeit rather inadequately due to our PA system deciding to go on strike!
We had quite a few people telling us that they had enjoyed the day, which helps to make all the hard work beforehand, and on the day, rewarding.
Next year we shall be host the Summer Gathering in the western half of the centre; details are being planned already.
The full results of the competitions are:-

1st Richard Thorpe MG3

1st Michael Wacher TC 291 points
2nd Lewis Mitchell MGF 288pts
3rd Ray Osborne Mk4 Magnette 287pts
4th Chris Goscombe TA 285pts
5th Ray Windle TD 283pts
6th John Brinkhurst TD 281pts
7th Philip Bayne-Powell 14/40 233pts
8th Norman Poole ZS 212pts