Click here to add your MG News.

6th May 2002

Reid on podium for MG

Anthony Reid kept up MG Sport and Racing's run of podium finishes with third place in the opening 15-lap Sprint Race at Thruxton this afternoon. Battling for position all the way through the 15-lap race, Reid was right with the car in second at the end. Team-mate Warren Hughes finished eleventh after being hit by another car on the opening lap – effecting his handling.

The high-speed Hampshire circuit poses some unique challenges, and Reid was initially third, only to lose a place to Matt Neal on the fourth lap: “I had some oversteer at Church – which is a sixth gear, 130mph corner – and Matt Neal had the momentum to go past me,” explained Anthony.

Anthony stayed with Neal, taking third when Yvan Muller retired from second place with a mechanical problem.
“I'm pleased to take finish in the points again and on the podium,” said Anthony. “This race showed what a good car the MG ZS EX260 is, it was great through the corners.”

Warren had to battle a handling problem for much of the race – courtesy of contact from another car - and ultimately finished eleventh.

“I got a good hit on the opening lap, it put me into a half-spin” explained Warren. “That effected the handling and it was a really hard race from then on.”

The Team Atomic Kitten MGs had mixed fortunes. Gareth Howell was in the thick of a dicing clutch of cars and came home tenth, while Colin Turkington retired from seventh after a wheel problem.

“The car is good round here,” said Gareth, “we're going to make some changes before the Feature Race, but that race was a real battle.”

“I lost a rear wheel,” explained Colin. “It was a shame – the car was good and I could do what I wanted with it.”

British Touring Car Championship
Sprint Race – 15 Laps

1 James Thompson GB Vauxhall Motorsport Astra 19mins47.539secs
2 Matt Neal GB Egg Sport Vauxhall Astra -2.402secs
3 Anthony Reid GB MG Sport and Racing ZS EX260 -2.882secs
4 Andy Priaulx GB Honda Racing Civic Type-R -10.239secs
5 Tim Harvey GB Team Halfords Peugeot 406 Coupe -16.953secs
6 Dan Eaves GB Team Halfords Peugeot 406 Coupe -17.196secs
7 Aaron Slight NZ Barwell Motorsport Vauxhall Astra -19.841secs
8 Paul O'Neill GB Egg Sport Vauxhall Astra -21.995secs
9 David Leslie GB TSP Proton Impian -23.172secs
10 Gareth Howell GB Team Atomic Kitten MG ZS EX259 -24.61secs

Photograph © Kelvin Fagan

More pictures More on X-Power Back to the News content

[Copyright/Credits] [Home] [Information] [Feedback]
Made in England