MG Rover

Click here to add your MG News.

24th August 2004

The MG Team at Zandvoort

The Netherland's one and only Grand Prix circuit, situated virtually on the sea beach within walking distance to the holiday resort of Zandvoort and only a short train ride from Amsterdam, plays host to THEMGTEAM's "Grand Finale" of the 2004 season.

At this historic venue, the very first Dutch Grand Prix in 1950 was won by Louis Rosier driving a Talbot. Subsequent 1950's victors include Alberto Ascari (Ferrari), Juan Manuel Fangio (Mercedes Benz), Stirling Moss (Vanwall), Joe Bonnier (BRM) and Jack Brabham (Cooper).

Alan Jones was the final Formula One victor for Williams in 1979, there-after the circuit has been plagued with noise restrictions emposed by the local councils and residence. Unsilenced cars can no longer run on this excellent fast and sweeping circuit between the famous Zandvoort grass covered sand dunes.

THEMGTEAM race will be of 12 laps with an estimated lap time of 2.30 secs. calculates to approximately 30 minutes. A free untimed practice on Friday or Saturday, qualifying on Saturday afternoon, free BBQ on Saturday evening for all competitors and the race is planned to be on Sunday. ( all timings are provisional )

The Rob Slotemaker Memorial Trophy meeting is the premier historic meeting at Zandvoort and THEMGTEAM race organisers are happy to consider entries from suitable smaller engined historic sports and GT cars running on Dunlop Historic race tyres or 70 series road tyres.

FIA papers are not mandatory for the event.

A second race is possibly available to drivers if required, more details to follow. Back to the News content

[Copyright/Credits] [Home] [Information] [Feedback]
Made in England